2021 Wall Scholars Announced

January 18, 2021

We are pleased to announce the Peter Wall Institute Wall Scholars for 2021-2022.  The Wall Scholars Research Award is a unique opportunity for faculty members to spend a transformative year in residence at the Institute in a collaborative, interdisciplinary environment.

This year’s awardees include UBC faculty members, as well as scholars from Canada (Toronto), Spain and South Africa, who come from a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, medicine and theatre. They will focus on the theme of Complex Systems, bringing their unique perspectives to expand our knowledge of dynamic systems, address challenges and explore opportunities for positive change.

The term of the appointment for these awardees will be from August 1, 2021 to July 31, 2022.

2021-2022 Wall Scholars

Mohammed Rafi Arefin, Assistant Professor, Geography, UBC

Khanh Dao Duc, Assistant Professor, Mathematics, UBC

Jonathan Davies, Professor, Botany & Forest and Conservation Sciences, UBC

Hanne De Jaegher, Associate Professor, Logic and Philosophy of Science, University of the Basque Country, Spain

Bethany Hastie, Assistant Professor, Peter A. Allard School of Law, UBC

Annette Henry, Professor, Language and Literacy Education & Institute for Race, Gender, Sexuality and Social Justice, UBC

Dallas Hunt, Assistant Professor, English Language and Literatures, UBC

Neda Maghbouleh, Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Migration, Race, and Identity, Sociology, University of Toronto Mississauga, Ontario

Rika Preiser, Associate Professor, Centre for Complex Systems in Transition, School of Public Leadership, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Anamaria Richardson, Clinical Assistant Professor and Community-Based Pediatrician, Pediatrics, UBC

Tom Scholte, Professor, Theatre and Film, UBC

Hannah Wittman, Professor, Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability & Land and Food Systems, UBC