The governing body of the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies is the Board of Trustees, as specified under the "Deed of Trust for the Establishment of the Peter Wall Endowment, 1991." For administrative purposes, the Institute falls under the jurisdiction of the UBC Office of the Vice President Research. An Academic Advisory Committee of the Institute meets prior to Trustees' meetings to discuss with the Director program policy and special initiatives. A Finance Committee of the Board of Trustees was reconstituted at the June 2011 meeting of the Trustees. The budget, and all financial matters, including investments, are first discussed by the Finance Committee and then brought to the Trustees for approval or information.

The Board of Trustees meets twice annually.

Board of Trustees

The five Trustees are the UBC President, two UBC-appointed Trustees, and two donor-appointed Trustees:

Dr. Santa Ono, President, UBC
Sonya Wall, Donor Family
Dr. Judy Illes, Canada Research Chair in Neuroethics, Professor of Neurology, and Director, National Core for Neuroethics
Bruno Wall, Wall Financial Corporation
Dr. Maxwell Cameron, Political Science

Official Observers

Director, Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (ex officio)
Dr. Gail Murphy, Vice-President Research & Innovation, UBC
Dr. Andrew Szeri, Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC
Dr. Brett Finlay, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor
Dr. Derek Gregory, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor

Finance Committee

Santa Ono, Chair, PWIAS Board
Stuart Mackenzie, UBC Comptroller (pro tem)
Director, Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (ex officio)
Yale Loh, UBC Treasurer
Bruno Wall, Wall Financial Corporation
Sonya Wall, Donor Family

Academic Advisory Committee (To April 2015)

A group of international researchers was formed by the Director to reinforce the academic integrity of the Institute. Many of the academic matters that the Director brought to the attention of the Board of Trustees were first discussed in this committee.