Kenneth Craig

Wall Associate


Professor Emeritus


Department of Psychology





Geographic Location

Visit Website
Kenneth Craig

Kenneth Craig, PhD, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Editor-in-Chief of Pain Research and Management. His research has focused upon understanding pain experience and expression and related social parameters of pain management, including formative impacts of family and ethnocultural environments, and the challenges of pain assessment in infants, young children and people with intellectual disabilities, brain damage, dementia and developmental disorders. This led him to focus upon nonverbal communication, facial expression in particular, its role in clinical and research measures and the difficulties and biases manifest when health care professionals and others attempt to recognize, understand and control pain. 

Dr. Craig’s awards have included status as a CIHR Senior Investigator, the Canada Council I. W. Killam Research Fellowship, the Canadian Pain Society Distinguished Career Award, the Canadian Psychological Association Donald O. Hebb Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Science and the American Pain Society Jeffrey Lawson Award for Advocacy in Children’s Pain Relief. He has served as President of the Canadian Pain Society and the Canadian Psychological Association and member of the Governing Council of the International Association for the Study of Pain.

Primary Recipient Awards

Kenneth Craig – Theme Development Workshop – 2017
Kenneth Craig – Distinguished Scholars in Residence – 2013

At the Institute, Dr. Craig will be planning workshops in Paris and Vancouver that will bring together scholars from the humanities, social sciences and neurosciences to build a multidisciplinary formulation of the remarkably complex phenomenon of human pain and suffering. In addition, a recently funded NIH application that employs computer vision, pattern recognition and machine learning to assess clinical pain in children will command his attention.

Kenneth Craig – Distinguished Scholars in Residence – 2003