The governing body of the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies is the Board of Trustees, as specified under the Deed of Trust for the Establishment of the Peter Wall Endowment, 1991. For administrative purposes, the Institute falls under the portfolio of the UBC Office of the Vice President Research and Innovation.

Board of Trustees

The role of the Board of Trustees is to “govern and manage the Peter Wall Endowment” (per Deed of Trust, 1991). The five Trustees are the UBC President (or designate), two UBC-appointed Trustees, and two donor-appointed Trustees.

Moura Quayle, Vice Provost and Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, UBC (Chair)
Jennifer Berdahl, Professor, Sociology, UBC
Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, UBC
Sonya Wall, Donor Family
Bruno Wall, Wall Financial Corporation

Official Observers to the Board of Trustees

Director, Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies
Gail Murphy, Vice-President Research & Innovation, UBC
Andrew Szeri, Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC
Brett Finlay, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor
Derek Gregory, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor

Finance Committee

The finance committee meets in advance of the meetings of the Board of Trustees to review financial statements and endowment reports, including investments, before the information is submitted to the Trustees’ meeting for approval or information.

Moura Quayle, Chair, PWIAS Board
Karamjeet Heer, UBC Comptroller (pro tem)
Director, Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (ex officio)
Yale Loh, UBC Treasurer
Bruno Wall, Wall Financial Corporation
Sonya Wall, Donor Family

Academic Advisory Board

The purpose of the Academic Advisory Board is to provide advice and make recommendations to the Institute Director and the UBC President on various matters relating to the Institute, including its academic governance and mandate.

Carole P. Christensen, Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
Wade Davis, Professor, Anthropology
Olav Slaymaker, Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography
Michelle Stack, Associate Professor, Department of Educational Studies
Ali Tatum, Colour Wave Consulting
Saraswathi Vedam, Professor, Department of Family Practice