Distinguished Professors

Established in 1994 as the first program of the Institute, The Peter Wall Distinguished Professorship is a unique appointment directed at attracting or retaining a world-class scholar. This scholar can be expected to have a major impact on broad areas of research work at UBC. The Professorship is an endowed chair that provides salary support for a five-year term, and for appointments prior to 2010, renewable without limit. For scholars appointed after 2010, the salary support is for a five-year term, renewable once.

Brett Finlay

Brett Finlay, FRSC, OC, holds appointments at the Michael Smith Laboratories and in the Departments of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Microbiology & Immunology at UBC. The University recruited Dr. Finlay as an Assistant Professor in 1989 and appointed him Peter Wall Distinguished Professor in July 2002, for a five-year term, renewable without limit.

Derek Gregory

Derek Gregory, FRSC, FBA, Dr. h.c. (Roskilde), Dr. h.c. (Heidelberg). Dr. Gregory is a member of the Department of Geography at UBC, which recruited him as a full Professor in 1989. The University appointed him Peter Wall Distinguished Professor in July 2011.

Past Distinguished Professors


Raphael Amit, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor 1994-2000

Michael Smith, Peter Wall Distinguished Professor 1994-2000